Previous slide
Next slide

*** Ads from aligned people and products ***

How can Ayurveda help you?

Traditional Ayurvedic practices, originating in India, are used to:

  • Maintain health
  • Reduce stress
  • Improve flexibility, strength, and stamina. 

Ayurveda focuses on proper diet for improving and maintaining good health and treating disease. Herbal Medicines are prescribed based on a person’s “dosha” type. Practices like yoga and meditation are often incorporated into Ayurvedic treatment and can be helpful for people with diseases such as asthmahigh blood pressure, and arthritis(HealthLinkBC)

Stay connected with our monthly newsletter


The ancient Indian medical system, also known as Ayurveda, is based on ancient writings that rely on a “natural” and holistic approach to physical and mental health. Ayurvedic medicine is one of the world’s oldest medical systems and remains one of India’s traditional health care systems. Ayurvedic treatment combines products (mainly derived from plants, but may also include animal, metal, and mineral), diet, exercise, and lifestyle. (National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, US)

Always ensure that your sources for Ayurvedic Medicines come from as clean, pure, and and organic  sources as possible.

Modern medicine is based on Physics, Chemistry, Botany, and Zoology. Ayurveda is based on Indian Philosophy—the theory of macrocosm and microcosm.

According to Ayurveda, matter is composed of five elements (Panchamahabhuta). They are:

  • Prithvi (earth or hardness)
  • AP (water or liquid)
  • Teja (fire or energy)
  • Vayu (gaseous state of matter)
  • Akasha (ethereal state of matter).

Just as the universe has the sun, moon and wind, in the same manner all living beings have motion, liquid, and the heat or energy component. They are called dosha :

  • Vata
  • Kapha
  • Pitta respectively.

In the Ayurvedic tradition, life is considered to be the union of body, sense organs, mind, and soul. The living body is also composed of the five basic elements of matter (Panchamahabhuta) and they are explained in terms of:

  • 3 Dosha—Vata, Pitta, and Kapha.
  • 7 Dhatu—Rasa (nutrient fluid), Rakta (blood), Mansa (muscle tissue), Medas (fats), Asthi (bone and connective tissue), Majja (bone marros), and Shukra (reproductive elements or ‘the vital substance’).
  • 3 main Malas (excretions)—Purisha (feces), Mutra (urine), and Sweda (sweat) .

When the Doshas exist in dynamic equilibrium, they help to maintain the human body in a healthy condition. In a state of healthy equilibrium, they are called Dhatus.  When there is any disturbance in this equilibrium, it causes malfunction and results in disease. In that event they are called Doshas. Thus Vata, Pitta, Kapha, are alternatively called Dhatu or Dosha depending on the effect they have on the functioning of the body. (National Health Portal, Government of India)

In India, Ayurveda is considered a form of medical care, equal to conventional Western medicine, Traditional Chinese Medicine,  Naturopathic Medicine, and Homeopathic Medicine.

The word Ayurveda translates to knowledge of life, based on the idea that disease is due to an imbalance or stress in a person’s consciousness, Ayurveda encourages certain lifestyle interventions and natural therapies to regain a balance between the body, mind, spirit, and the environment. It is said to help by eliminating impurities, reducing symptoms, increasing resistance to disease, reducing worry, and increasing harmony in life.

Ayurveda can have positive effects when used as a complementary therapy in combination with standard, conventional medical care.

Focusing on maintaining health and increasing vitality, Ayurveda provides you with an understanding of your individual dosha (mind-body type) and provides you with guidelines to a balanced lifestyle. 

Ayurvedic knowledge recognizes that each human being is made up of the same five elements that make up the entire universe – earth, water, fire, air, and space. These elements combine in the human body to form the three doshas – the three life energies that control how your body functions.

  • Vata dosha is comprised of air and space and governs energy and movement within the body, making up the nervous system.
  • Pitta dosha is composed of fire and water and governs light, heat, and transformation, including the digestive and metabolic systems. 
  • Kapha dosha is comprised of water and earth and governs matter, cohesion, and preservation, constructing the bodily tissues. 

Each of us has our own unique blend of the three doshas and discovering your individual dosha and how to balance it and support your health is the wisdom that Ayurveda provides. (Ayurveda Association of Canada)

Ayurveda, or ayurvedic medicine, is a healthy-lifestyle system that people in India have used for more than 5 thousand years. Ayurveda emphasizes good health, prevention, and the treatment of illness through lifestyle practices (such as massage, meditation, yoga, and dietary changes) and the use of herbal remedies.

Ayurvedic medicine is holistic, which means viewing the body and mind as a whole. Ayurveda not only treats a person’s physical complaints, but it also changes lifestyle practices to help maintain or improve health.

According to Ayurveda, the five elements of nature (space, air, fire, water, earth) combine in the body as three components (doshas) known as Vatta, Pitta, and Kapha. These doshas relate closely to the basic elements of nature and to specific functions of the body. A balance of these doshas is thought to be required for optimal health.

  • Air and space represent Vatta. Vatta controls muscle and joint movement, breathing, and heartbeat. Also, Vatta controls anxiety, fear, pain, and other functions of the nervous system.
  • Fire and water represent Pitta, which is thought to control such bodily functions as digestion, metabolism, intelligence, and skin colour. Pitta governs the emotions of anger, hate, and jealousy.
  • Earth and water represent Kapha. The physical structure of the body and the immune system are governed by Kapha. Emotional responses thought to be controlled by Kapha include calmness, forgiveness, love, and greed.

The doshas, which are determined at the time of conception, also relate to an individual’s physical makeup and personality. A person with a Vatta makeup tends to have a small, thin build. The Pitta body style is more of a medium, muscular build. The Kapha appearance is usually bigger and well-developed. Most people are considered to have a combination of doshas, with one type usually being predominant.

In ayurvedic medicine, it is thought that if an imbalance occurs in any of the three doshas, illness results. Ayurvedic medicine treats illness in many ways, including dietary changes, herbal remedies, and exercise. According to the ayurvedic philosophy, you can also use yoga, meditation, or counselling to treat disease.

Explore the Research

We believe you should have access to high-quality research to help you make informed health decisions. Below are four trusted databases you can use as tools to expand your healthcare knowledge.